Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
1,109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Gradually over the last year my view of smartphones has changed from "Amazing tech" to "expensive but unfortunately necessary evil", being an EV driver I especially feel that I have no choice but to have one.

So the following questions:

Does anyone here use an EV for longish trips without having a smartphone?

Given you don't need a smartphone for making trips in an ICE does this reliance show that EV charging is over complex, fragmented in implementation and likely to be massively confusing to the average driver?

·
Registered
2,814 Posts
Given you don't need a smartphone for making trips in an ICE does this reliance show that EV charging is over complex, fragmented in implementation and likely to be massively confusing to the average driver?
No. What you say may well be true, but it’s not directly connected with the smartphone issue.

The reliance on smartphones mainly shows that charging vendors assume there is substantial overlap between EV early adopters and smartphone users (which is probably true, but maybe not to the extent they think it is).

If there was a single, well designed smartphone app covering all networks then you wouldn’t say it was “over complex, fragmented in implementation and likely to be massively confusing to the average driver”. Those vices are not primarily caused by use of smartphones.

·
Registered
Ioniq 5 Ultimate
2,677 Posts
Its a bonkers arrangement. Without a smartphone when your out you have no clue where chargers are, how much most of them will cost you, mostly unusable without a smartphone (or with!!) and some of them you don't even know what network run it. Despite some on here not wanting it when rapids are on every filling station forecourt with debit card payment for all to find easily the better. Hunting down rapids even with a smartphone is not fun.

·
Registered
Kia e-Niro, 2021, 4+, Yacht Blue
8,057 Posts