Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 72 Posts

·
Registered
226 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

We're currently running a 2013 Citroen Berlingo. It has just shy of 80k on the clock and probably another 3-5 years of useful service in it. It manages 42mpg on diesel, averaged over 500 miles and a two week period.

Ideally, we'd like a slightly bigger van. Something between the Berlingo and a transit. Roof height is very important; we'd benefit from a higher roof because some of the flower arrangements are tall and only just fit at the moment.

I'm new to the van market and still have research to do. I'm aware of Nissan's E-NV200 and a quick search on Autotrader brought up some small Renaults or Citroens, if I recall. They were a few years old and seemed quite limited though.

Range is important, even though the van seldom does more than 60 miles a day, often less. The business will have very little appetite for charging because it's used to filling up with diesel every coupe of weeks and not having to think about fuel most of the time. We also have no facility to charge, so will rely on public charging facilities. The supermarket opposite has recently installed two charging points, but I have to check if they are rapids or not. Rapid charging is a must, so useful range can be added in the time it takes to buy and eat a sandwich.

I would love to see the business purchase an electric van, but there are some significant challenges to overcome; cost and practicality being foremost. Any advice or information you could provide me with would be a great help. If a compelling business case can be put forward for an EV van over a piston powered counterpart, with the constraints we have, it could help pave the way for other businesses to do the same.

Thanks for your time and consideration. I look forward to any input you may have!

·
Registered
16,888 Posts