Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi - newbie here, just ordered an e-Niro and looking to get the charging point sorted out. Thinking of a PodPoint, tethered. There's a straightforward place to put the unit on a side wall right next to our off-street parking - all owned by us, less than 15m cable run so should fit within a "standard" installation. All good, but...

The consumer unit/fuse box are on the front wall of the house. The layout is complicated (we're on the side of a hill) but the bottom line is that the cable will have to run across the front of our house from one side to the other, about 7-8ft above ground. That gives two issues - one is the appearance, and the other is that the "standard" Podpoint installation specifically excludes any wiring above 6ft.

I've looked at internal routes and they are a nightmare - I'd have to lift multiple floorboards, disrupt plumbing, drill lots of holes and uninstall part of our kitchen!

I was thinking of laying a plastic trunk (Screwfix 20mm round white) myself, with cable pull cord, so that the only thing the installer would have to worry about was the fixing at both ends. I'm also hoping that would look neater than a black cable just pinned to the wall.

Has anyone got any experience of anything like this that might help me?

·
Registered
5,539 Posts
Hi - newbie here, just ordered an e-Niro and looking to get the charging point sorted out. Thinking of a PodPoint, tethered. There's a straightforward place to put the unit on a side wall right next to our off-street parking - all owned by us, less than 15m cable run so should fit within a "standard" installation. All good, but...