1 - 20 of 66 Posts

·
Registered
661 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

·
Registered
3,764 Posts
Five times the energy density is quite a claim, especially given Samsung's announcement of batteries using "Graphene balls" only last November says only a 45% increase in energy density, albeit a 5x increase in charge rate. (I'm assuming it solves the problem of lithium metal deposition at high charge rates and possibly lower temperatures too)

Graphene Balls Reduce a One Hour Battery Recharge to 12 Minutes

·
Registered
3,764 Posts
* up to 5 times :)
Well the article you linked does specifically claim "Graphene batteries have five times the energy density of the best Li-Ion battery."

I was just observing that this seems out of step with Samsung's claims of just a few months ago. But I'm not a battery expert by any means.

·
Registered
4,936 Posts
Five times the energy density is quite a claim, especially given Samsung's announcement of batteries using "Graphene balls" only last November says only a 45% increase in energy density, albeit a 5x increase in charge rate. (I'm assuming it solves the problem of lithium metal deposition at high charge rates and possibly lower temperatures too)

At least for me that pcworld web page is unreadable. Here's the source article: Graphene balls for lithium rechargeable batteries with fast charging and high volumetric energy densities

Note that they aren't claiming a graphene battery, they're claiming that coating the electrodes of a lithium-ion battery with graphene balls improves charge rates.

·
Registered
699 Posts
The indiegogo page for the actual product claims 5x faster charge rates, but doesn't seem to talk about energy density. Then again, it's quite detail shy and has some stuff embarrassingly wrong (like their timescale goes on about kickstarter, while being on a competing platform!).