Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Picked up my brand new Nissan Leaf nConnecta last week, and here’s a breakdown of how it’s been for me initially.

I’ve been driving a Mercedes diesel since 2015, an old-style A Class a180, then a more sporty B Class b180, so I’ve been used to cars with a decent amount of power, but not a huge amount in the way of features. Mercedes have always been a great company to deal with - sterling customer service, reliability of the cars - and good follow-up care.

However, I’ve gone from driving 350+ miles per week (two kids = lots of clubs/sports, plus commuting and other general driving) down to about 120 miles per week, if that. My daily commute is a 20mile round trip, and I decided to go for an electric car - both as a means of getting into the EV life, but also to reduce operating costs - and, as a bit of a treat to myself.

After a lot of consideration and research, I decided to go for the Leaf, partly because of the various grants and deals on offer, but also because a work colleague has owned two, and highly recommended them. He’s now a Tesla 3 owner - and took me for a test drive last week - but it was out of my price range, and beyond my needs. I’ll consider one in future. I went for a test drive in an e+ Tekna, and thoroughly enjoyed it. It feels like a decent-sized car - not unlike a Ford Focus. And due to design changes in the 2018/19 models, it no longer looks like the kind of vehicle a pensioner would own. It looks modern, stylish and “young”. I opted for black pearlescent paint, which looks cool - especially with the nConnecta blue trim.

So, I signed up for a PCP deal, and the Leaf arrived last week. After signing all the paperwork, we set up my phone (touchscreen Apple CarPlay is truly fantastic and responsive), adjusted all the mirrors and my seat, and once I’d been given a decent familiarisation session with the sales rep, I headed home.