Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

Before I finally taking the plunge and buying a used Leaf 24, how concerned should I be about the possibility of Chademo not being available at pumps in future? I see people suggesting that CCS is taking over, which would rule out being able to use these cars for longer journeys.

Being a complete novice to all this, do Ecotricity/etc pumps also have level 2 charging connectors? If so, how long would it take to charge to say 80% if your Leaf was equipped with the 6.6kW charger?

·
Registered
861 Posts
It'll be many years before Chademo is phased out, it's just that the future is CCS.
A LEAF 24 takes around 2 hours to charge from 20 to 80% at the rare 6.6 kW charger, and 4 hours at the more common 3.6. In comparison it takes 40 minutes by Chademo.

·
Registered
417 Posts
Hi,

Before I finally taking the plunge and buying a used Leaf 24, how concerned should I be about the possibility of Chademo not being available at pumps in future? I see people suggesting that CCS is taking over, which would rule out being able to use these cars for longer journeys.

Being a complete novice to all this, do Ecotricity/etc pumps also have level 2 charging connectors? If so, how long would it take to charge to say 80% if your Leaf was equipped with the 6.6kW charger?
Yeah as @srichards says providers are still installing new CHADeMo chargers at the moment, so personally I'm not that worried.

·
Registered
321 Posts