Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
Smart EQ ForFour
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently got my first EV and have been charging on the included granny lead at home, which is more than sufficient for the amount of driving we do.

I’ve been considering getting a proper charge point installed but have held out purely due to cost, which is difficult to justify given that the granny lead is sufficient.

However, I’ve recently learned more about PEN fault risk from various YouTube videos and posts on here, and so was wondering:

Does using a 10A granny charger regularly carry the same PEN fault safety risk as if I were using a full 32A EVSE with no earth rod/PEN fault protection? Or does the fact that it is lower current somehow mitigate this risk? Intuitively to me it doesn’t seem that it should make a difference but I’m no expert.

·
Registered
4,641 Posts
I recently got my first EV and have been charging on the included granny lead at home, which is more than sufficient for the amount of driving we do.

I’ve been considering getting a proper charge point installed but have held out purely due to cost, which is difficult to justify given that the granny lead is sufficient.

However, I’ve recently learned more about PEN fault risk from various YouTube videos and posts on here, and so was wondering:

Does using a 10A granny charger regularly carry the same PEN fault safety risk as if I were using a full 32A EVSE with no earth rod/PEN fault protection? Or does the fact that it is lower current somehow mitigate this risk? Intuitively to me it doesn’t seem that it should make a difference but I’m no expert.