Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
394 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Another new member here so just saying hi :)

I say new, I've actually been lurking in the background for a couple of months reading lots of posts trying to learn a few things as I'm new to EVs.

I have an i3 REx on order which is currently in build so hopefully not too much longer to wait before I can collect it. This will be my first EV so I'm a bit nervous that I've chosen the right one for me but I thought long and hard about it. There probably isn't an i3 review, video, forum post or blog article out there that I haven't seen, sad I know !

I'm a fan of lightweight cars so the i3's design & manufacturing process appeals to me. The difference this makes to driver enjoyment is evident from just a quick test drive and although this isn't important to a lot of people it's something that helped sell the car to me. I once tried explaining this on the i3 section of the LEAF forum but got shouted down as a 'badge snob' which quite amused me seeing as I currently drive an old Skoda Fabia :)

Although 95% of my journeys are within the battery range of the i3 I went with REx because I do occasionally do longer journeys and the i3 is going to be the only car I own so I've chosen the easy option rather than having to rely on public charging (yes, I'm a wimp !). I spent a long time reading stories of woe on the LEAF forum and even on here (like cjm_2013's journey) and I'm sorry to say that I haven't got the adventurous spirit to put up with that. Seeing as this is my first EV I'm playing it safe with a range extender.

Anyway, enough waffle. I like the feel of the SpeakEV forum (as opposed to the manufacturer specific EV forums) so I intend joining in and can hopefully help answer a few questions about the i3 now and again.

Andy.

·
Registered
8,106 Posts
Hi Andy and welcome :)