Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1,415 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've now had 3 failed attempts at charging MG ZS EV at Wetherby Services. I have at different time tried all 3 of the units at this site (2 of them on at least 2 separate occasions) and am yet to have a successful experience, although customer Services did on one occasion manage to give me a free vend.

On each occasion other cars have been successful. I'm an experienced EV driver and am generally successful on other rapid chargers.

This morning I had the latest failed attempt and again called customer services. They let slip that by far the greatest number of problems were with MG cars, followed by iPace. I hadn't told him what car I was driving before they volunteered this so imagine there is a pattern here.

My assumption is that there are some compatibility issues between some MG cars and some Gridserve chargers (or both). It might be useful if we can determine what this pattern is. Do you drive an MG and if so I'd be interested to hear of success and failures at Gridserve chargers. What model of car and version of BMS do you have?

It may be that either MG / and/or Gridserve need to apply some update, but evidence of issue may be necessary to get them to look at it.

·
Registered
MG5 EV / Zoe ZE50 R135
30 Posts
I've now had 3 failed attempts at charging MG ZS EV at Wetherby Services. I have at different time tried all 3 of the units at this site (2 of them on at least 2 separate occasions) and am yet to have a successful experience, although customer Services did on one occasion manage to give me a free vend.

On each occasion other cars have been successful. I'm an experienced EV driver and am generally successful on other rapid chargers.