Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 380 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm an Irish driver and regularly use the M4 across the UK. The Ecotricity CCS chargers have never been very reliable and it has always been an adventure to make the trip in my Ioniq. I was looking at Zap Map just now to plan my next trip and most of the "Electric Highway" chargers are reported as faulty.

Have Ecotricity given up on their motorway CCS chargers? If so, can they please back out of their contract and let a competent company take over?

It's past ridiculous that the motorway network is held hostage by this company. They are clearly not up to the task.

·
Registered
280 Posts
I wonder how many people will try and collar Dale Vince at Fully Charged Live and see what he has to say for the sorry state of their chargers?

Four of them refused to work on the Zoe at Charnock Services M6 Northbound last Sunday, rang them up Monday and although the helpful woman apologised that one of the rapids was broken and the two 22kWh posts don't work because there is a problem with the cards they have sent out. She said the 2nd rapid was working even though the Zoe didn't like it and she wouldn't log it as a fault!

It was a bit ominous when we turned up and there were no other cars charging even though the carpark was full and busy, thank god for plan C but that's another story :)

·
Super Moderator
10,899 Posts
They still repair the viable ones. Recently, I reported a problem at Holyhead and it was fixed a few days later. About 30 of the triple heads are hopeless and need to be replaced. EH should have done it ages ago.

Zap map is not always accurate. People sometimes report free vend as fault.

My personal success rate is about 75% on CCS. Not good enough.

I use Instavolt as my plan A. EH are plan B or opportunity charge.

·
Registered
2,481 Posts