Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
Earlier this year I decided my next car would be an EV. I booked extended test drives for a BMW i3s, a Nissan Leaf (40), a Hyundai Kona and a Peugeot e208. Unfortunately I had to cancel the Leaf due to the pandemic but it didn't really excite me and I have concerns about the battery thermal management.
I really loved the i3s for its acceleration, agility and spacious interior. I am not sure about driving it in winter (we currently have two 4WD vehicles due to where we live) and so would need to buy winter wheels. I really like the environmental credentials of the car too. The standard stereo was crap though so I'd look at a HK upgrade. It was also fidgety!
The Peugeot e208 was really well planted with a great modern interior and forgiving suspension. I found it a bit slow (I'm an Audi S3 driver) but it's a lovely looking thing. I can also get a new GT spec for the price of a one year old i3s, offering an extra year of warranty.
The Kona was fine but not interesting enough for me. I didn't like the torque steer much but the range was fantastic.
So, the 'heart' choice is the i3s and the 'head' choice is the e208. How do I choose?!

·
Registered
348 Posts
Coin? Don't ask me, I look on cars as a tool, a cost drain and not a source of entertainment. It's obviously nice to have a car you really enjoy driving, but for me as a late starter driving any car that gets me where I want to go is enjoyable. That's why I buy snow tyres!

I'd be worried about the cost of a minor accident in the i3 though due to its construction.

·
Registered
496 Posts