Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The Boss Lady has ordered an Outlander PHEV so I get the job of doing the research on home charging , on road charging etc etc.

I have read through a lot of the forum and have to say a big thank you for the enthusiasts who share their knowledge and experiences.

I am a prius driver (old model) and hoping to persuade my company to lease an Outlander PHEV next year

·
Registered
3,462 Posts
Welcome!

After just holidaying up in that beautiful part of the world, you've made the right choice with a PHEV rather than a BEV. All those hills and lack of public charging will mean that you'll be using a fair bit of dinosaur juice unless the majority of your journeys are short.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Thanks for that. Please forgive my ignorance being a newbie but what is a BEV ? is it a fully electric vehicle ? I have learned some of the terminology, and now understand what is meant by being ICE'd - love it :cool:

Whilst we are in the very north of Cumbria ( brampton near Carlisle) the hills arent too much of an issue.. The car will mainly be for SWMBO to go back and forward to her business (circa 20 miles) and the Golf Club, so we shouldnt use too much petrol. She goes across to newcastle on business about once a month so she can stop at waitrose hexham and have a coffee (free) whilst using the rapid charger which is about halfway and do the same coming back. The lease is limited to 12000 miles per annum so if she needs to do long trips she may have to use my old prius and I could get a go in the PHEV (perhaps o_O)

·
Registered
8,106 Posts
Battery Electric Vehicle - 100% electric

PHEV - Plug-in Hybrid Electric Vehicle - like the Outlander or Ampera

ICE - Internal Combustion Engine vehicle - runs only on petrol, diesel or LPG (not plug in)

:) :)

·
Registered
3,462 Posts