Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
179 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi , I am about to order a Leaf Acenta under the Electric Avenue scheme. I have been umming and arring about it for a few months and found your forum really useful . A big thank you to @Talon who answered my Electric Avenue questions. I still can't decide if to go for any extras . As much as I would like the 6.6kw and cold pack , if I do only keep the car for the 18 months , it seems a lot extra to pay .

·
Registered
8,106 Posts
Welcome to the forum @catherington :)

I have a generation 1 Leaf (2011) so I only have the 3kW charger.

I suppose it depends a lot on how you intend to use the car.

If you expect to use it just for local trips and within the range of the car (say, under 80 miles in the day) then you won't be using public charging so most, if not all, your charging will be done at home and probably overnight.

However, there are a couple of scenarios where you might consider the 6kW charger a real bonus...

If you often need to top up during the day. Charging at 3kW is like watching paint dry! It is perfectly fine for an overnight charge but if you are needing the miles asap then 3kW is not the best way. 3kW will add about 15 miles per hour of charge whereas 6kW about 30 miles. So if you are topping up in the day you will want 6kW.

Long trips. If you intend to have the Leaf as your only car then you will need to use it for longer trips, if only occasionally. Having 6kW charging as a backup for when rapid chargers fail or as a way to charge at your destination is a huge bonus. This is one of the things I miss with my Mk1 Leaf.

I don't know the costs involved and whether it is worthwhile is a personal decision, but I would personally pay a fair bit to have 6kW charging. I am even considering an after-market upgrade on my Mk1 if the price is right.

Good luck with your choice and keep us all informed on how you get on won't you :)

·
Banned