Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello all please help me im a novice lol i'm in process of looking to buy my first ev . i am utterly confused by the different charging variants the cost of a full charge for example, there is a charging point down the road it cost 16 p per kwh the bmw is 33 kwh so does that mean its 16 x 33 which is £5.28 to fully charge it or the charging time is say 8 hours does that mean its 16p x 8 which is £1.28

also the charging cables are confusing i would only get the home cable plug in the wall , im assuming i would need another cable if i was charging on the street , though i would like a home charging point

any pointers on these subjects would be very welcome thanks in advance andy

·
Registered
126 Posts
hello all please help me im a novice lol i'm in process of looking to buy my first ev . i am utterly confused by the different charging variants....
Hi Andy, good fun isn't it! :LOL: I recommend the charging guides on ZapMap as a good source to help you make sense of it all.

Cheers!

·
Registered
1,348 Posts
Costs 16p x 33kWh, but usually only a part charge. BMW can be expensive to repair. Range extender a mixed blessing, or just best to avoid.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
thanks for reply , as for going for the bmw with range extender its my first foray into an ev i think i need that little extra piece of mind that going all electric would not give me , the bmw im looking at is a good price that i can manage some of the other models out there are very expensive and out my price range ive been looking at the zapmap is it saying the bmw can only ever charge at 11kwh and not use faster chargers

·
Premium Member
11,448 Posts
Be careful. The i3 REX isn't that reliable, especially early models so make sure you have extended warranty or deep pockets if you get problems.