Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi all

Please forgive me being a total novice, but... I am buying a 2015 renault zoe, and trying to sort out installation of a home charger.
We live in an end of terrace house. We have a driveway, but it’s in front of our garage, which is in a block of 3 garages behind our home.
Our meter is on the back of our house, so to have it installed from there we'll need to have the cable fed through the garden and across the other two garages/driveways to reach ours. This is clearly not a standard installation.

Anyone else had to pay extra for non-standard installation and have any idea of the costs?

Thanks

·
Registered
4 Posts
Hi.

I have the same problem, where my drive and garage is separated from me by my neighbour's house and drive.

You can have the cable pass under your neighbours' property, but it will be an expensive process both in terms of the cost of excavation/cable and the legal process that will have to be followed with all three parties and solicitors agreeing what I believe are called wayleaves.

In my case, my neighbour is a lunatic and unapproachable anyway, so I have arranged a new supply to the garage with my DNO.

The cost for me is £1200, which is based on 5m of cable to the pavement and jointing etc.

If you take this route, you will have a separate meter and bill just for your garage, but you could take the opportunity to install sockets and lights in there once you have an electricity supply. Indeed, you would need to have a consumer unit installed ready for the EVSE installer to connect to.

I know its a large initial outlay, but may well work out cheaper than trying to route across two other people's property, which you would most likely have to sort out yourself anyway, I'd say there's little chance the EVSE installer will want to touch it.

Hope this helps.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi.