Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 144 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good morning everyone.

I'm new here and a first time poster, i did have a look around but could really use some advice.

I'm a teacher who commutes 50 miles one way everyday to school. The cost of fuel has sent my monthly expenses up to about £250 a month. This is no longer sustainable for me long term. Over the summer holidays i am looking to change my petrol car for something more economical. No specific requirements, but i would like to try and keep the costs down to £200 or less a month. There are no charging points near me or at my school, but i can run an extension lead from a standard plug.

I am clueless when it comes to cars in general, so a decision like this has left me with so many factors that i am unsure of.

I would be grateful for any help or advice you can give

·
The best there is at what I do
11,151 Posts
If you haven't got a smart meter get one and have a proper charger installed if possible, some electric companies offer vcheaper night time/off peak rates that over the course of a year can amount to considerable savings, I'm with Octopus and they off cheap rates between 00:30 and 04:30, I also use my washing machine and tumble dryer in that time slot, my bills have reduced considerably.

·
Registered
854 Posts
Unless you buy second hand it might not yet be financially viable to switch to an EV, finding one that costs not too much more than the car you're replacing could be difficult depending what you currently drive.

Charging using an extension via a standard plug is not recommended for long continuous charging as a 13a plug (charging at 10a) may only add around 7-10 miles per hour, which would be over 10 hours each night.

Ideally you'd need a dedicated charger installed if you do 100 miles per day for work.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)