Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

Newbie here.

I live in the UK, have solar panels from when the tariffs were excellent, drive short journeys these days, may retire soon and have a driveway. Therefore due to slight remaining range anxiety I am thinking of a plug in hybrid as my first venture into the EV world and ideally would charge it during the day if there was enough sunlight.

It occurred to me that what would be really great would be a not-so-fast charger that limits charge current to the car to whatever excess my solar panels are producing, even if it takes a little longer to charge. I found the Zappi controller/charger which seems to be able to do that job.

Then it occurred to me that if I just use a regular domestic 240V 13A socket, which ordinarily would take 4-5h to charge up the battery, why could I not just fit an off the shelf remote controlled circuit breaker to that socket which turns it on and off according to, for example, the brightness of the sunlight?

As a bit of a geek, the electronics required to do that would be pretty easy to set up and the cost minimal. It would take a little "tuning" to get it right but should be perfectly possible. Would turning the domestic power socket on and off according to the sunlight intensity damage the battery or charge circuit in any way? I would put in some kind of time delay so it was not turning on and off every few seconds obviously.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

·
Registered
1,170 Posts
Welcome John,

I have been trying to convert my in laws to this way of thinking. I have nothing else to add but I commend you for using your PV for free miles :)

·
Registered
1,113 Posts