Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 21 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi
sorry I'm new to EVs.
I am getting a new Nissan leaf. I am wondering can I install a type 2 charge point simply by purchasing a type 2 socket and having my electrician wire in 2 X 120v as I believe that is the voltage required ?

Sorry if I'm being dense but I don't want a smart charger as I simply won't use it's features.

·
Registered
4,079 Posts
I don't want a smart charger as I simply won't use it's features.
This I can understand.
having my electrician wire in 2 X 120v as I believe that is the voltage required
Is this in the UK? Normally it's 230v here so I don't understand what you are suggesting.
I am wondering can I install a type 2 charge point simply by purchasing a type 2 socket
No. Nearly all EVs, and certainly the LEAF, require an EVSE which is a device that checks it is safe to connect the charge before doing so. You cannot just plug the car into the mains.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
This I can understand.

Is this in the UK? Normally it's 230v here so I don't understand what you are suggesting.

No. Nearly all EVs, and certainly the LEAF, require an EVSE which is a device that checks it is safe to connect the charge before doing so. You cannot just plug the car into the mains.
Thanks buddy.

I'm in the UK

So it work as just a plug then ? What would you suggest ?

·
Registered
4,682 Posts
So it work as just a plug then ?
No. The charge point 'talks' to the car, so has to have suitable intelligence.

You don't have to have a 'smart' one (with comms back to apps or the internet) but you can only get the government grant for those. A basic unit is of course cheaper, but a lot of the total cost is in the installation.