Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

This is my first post on Speak EV.

I'm new to the world of EVs but have decided to purchase a used 2014 Q210 Zoe (battery lease) as a replacement for an old ICE supermini. I have a 20 mile round trip commute and driveway parking next to the house electricity meter, so it seems like a perfect set-up to try an EV.

I'm also looking at electricity tariffs and home chargers that will be suitable. So far Octopus Go seems a perfect balance of simplicity (I haven't got time for Octopus Agile) and economy (~5p/kWh from 00:30 to 04:30 - should be time to charge a 22 kWh battery on a 7kW charger). Octopus also seem to have linked up with EO to offer an EO Mini Smart Home at a reasonable price.

My questions are:
  1. How easy is it to set up reliable overnight charging to take advantage of off-peak with a car and charger like this?
  2. Should the app for the EO Mini Smart Home be all that I need to set this up?
  3. Is there an issue with the Zoe going to 'sleep' if I, say, plug it in to the charger at 18:30 its waiting for 6 hours until any charge is delivered by the wall box (to take advantage of off-peak)
  4. More generally, do I also need an app for the Zoe? I've seen that newer models have an app, but what about a 2014 car? And if so which one do I need? - it's not obvious from the Google Play store.
I recognise that's a lot of questions, but any tips and advice would be massively appreciated.

Thank you!

·
Registered
4,325 Posts
Hello,

This is my first post on Speak EV.

I'm new to the world of EVs but have decided to purchase a used 2014 Q210 Zoe (battery lease) as a replacement for an old ICE supermini. I have a 20 mile round trip commute and driveway parking next to the house electricity meter, so it seems like a perfect set-up to try an EV.