Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi.. I'm a newbie here (first post) after buying a BMW 225XE (PHEV). Question is I'm looking to get a EVSE installed and have been chasing quotes for Pod Point, Growatt and Rolec. It's not going to provide a must faster charger than than the granny charger (max 3.6kwh) but I want to a) monitor usage, b) schedule charge times; all behind a robust EVSE than a granny charger plugged into a 3-pin.

Any thoughts on the above EV chargers? I read the literature, and Pod Point don't seem to be able to schedule charging times (the manual points to car functionality to do that).

·
Registered
2,256 Posts
Do smart meters still need mobile signal? As I live in a rural area with no signal. Octopus told me recently that they could install in six weeks but I’m sceptical
I am not familiar with the 225XE iDrive but if it is anything like the i3, it is possible to set off peak charging and departure times. The supplied OUC is limited to 10amps/2.4kWs. Why are you thinking about a 3.6kW charging point rather than one that supplies 7.2kWs?

·
Registered
4,336 Posts
I am not familiar with the 225XE iDrive but if it is anything like the i3, it is possible to set off peak charging and departure times. The supplied OUC is limited to 10amps/2.4kWs. Why are you thinking about a 3.6kW charging point rather than one that supplies 7.2kWs?
The point being that whilst your current car is limited to 3.6 kW you may as well future proof for a full BEV and purchase the 7.2 kW version as the extra cost is minimal now but an upgrade later is very expensive.
A lot of charge points use your home internet connection, via WiFi in the case of Pod Point but others by cable for greater security and reliability.
If you want a time of use tariff such as Octopus Go or agile there are alternatives such as the Ohme or the Indra designed smart charger.

·
Registered
BMW 300e 2020 model and Leaf 40kW 2019 model