Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
2017 Nissan Leaf Acenta 30kWh
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone
I'm new to the forum, I've just bought a used Leaf 30. I've been charging it with the granny cable so far, but I'd like to install a proper charging point before too long. Partly because of safety but mainly because the granny cable is only just long enough so it's a pain parking.
I've done a bit of searching and charging points start at around £500, and that's with the grant. It seems like a lot of money for a pretty simple bit of kit, so I'm tempted to have a go myself. I have experience of designing and building power control systems but I'm not a qualified electrician, so my plan is to build and test the device, then get a sparky in to connect it and check over the existing house installation while they're at it.
Has anyone on here done the same? Any tips?

·
EV Convert
iPace HSE / 2019 and eTron 55 / 2020
671 Posts
Buy a used one on eBay, or the classified section on here.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I did think of that, it's a possibility. But it's still quite a bit of money and from browsing on here it seems there are quite a few problems with older ones. If I build my own it's fixable and updateable.

·
Registered
1,975 Posts
Hi everyone
I'm new to the forum, I've just bought a used Leaf 30. I've been charging it with the granny cable so far, but I'd like to install a proper charging point before too long. Partly because of safety but mainly because the granny cable is only just long enough so it's a pain parking.