Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I am studying the design of DC fast chargers.

I learned some information about their varieties and the approximate principle of operation (Vienna Rect. - LLC DC/DC - Output).

Usually, after Vienna Rectifier, you can get a maximum voltage of about 840VDC, and then lower it to the desired level using a DC/DC converter.

Most electric vehicle models have battery voltages in the range of 345 - 480VDC.

The exception is the Porsche Taycan, which has an 800V battery.

It is charged by CCS, which can reach 920VDC.

As I understand it, usually the charging modules that make up the fast chargers give out 250-750VDC.
Further, they are already connected in parallel, for a set of high power.

I wondered how the CCS outputs such a high voltage (Up to 920VDC), if usually the modules produce up to 750VDC (which is enough for CHAdeMO).

Are they using other DC/DC designs (Buck-Boost) or simply combining serial and parallel connection of charging modules to increase the voltage?

Or is this voltage the sum of DC (up to 750V) and AC on the CCS plug?

Thank you!

·
Registered
Renault Zoe 50
17,782 Posts
The rapid charger will always match the battery voltage (roughly speaking), so I don’t know where you are getting that CCS will always out our these voltages.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the answer!

Perhaps I did not quite correctly put the question.

The charging modules, the diagram of which is shown in the picture, output a range of 250 - 750V, which is suitable for most models of electric vehicles.
Yes, battery voltage will vary depending on the charge level.

The maximum voltage that the CCS can give - 920V, is closest to this voltage of the Porsche Taycan (800V - charged battery).
The CCS output will be limited by the maximum battery voltage of the electric vehicle (depending on the model).