Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I have just signed up to the Octopus EV salary sacrifice scheme through my work. Octopus have placed the order for the car today and just waiting for MG to confirm the order.
I’ve ordered the trophy connect in black.

·
Registered
148 Posts
I work in the automotive manufacturing industry. All car makers are suffering from chip shortages so lead times are massive and it's not supposed to get much better until the end of this year. Luckily China is less effected so hopefully MG will do better at delivery than some OEMs

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 · (Edited)
What's the Octopus EV salary sacrifice scheme?
It’s a scheme that employers can sign up to, for their employees to lease EV’s but they save money on tax. So the MG I’m leasing is about £500 a month (can’t remember the exact figures) but because it comes out before I get taxed, the money I lose after tax is only £350 a month. So it’s essentially costing me £350 a month. Sorry I’m not very good at explaining it.

So not only do you making savings in tax, but it also comes with other really good features such as:
Free tyres due to wear and tear
Free insurance + one named driver
Free breakdown cover
Free maintenance and servicing
£500 damage waiver for any end of lease damages
10,000 miles worth of electricity for free if you switch to octopus energy as your energy supplier

I think your employer saves money in tax aswell if they join the scheme, so there’s a benefit to them doing too. Here’s a link with details: Salary Sacrifice | Octopus Electric Vehicles

·
Registered
999 Posts
Hi, I have just signed up to the Octopus EV salary sacrifice scheme through my work. Octopus have placed the order for the car today and just waiting for MG to confirm the order.
I’ve ordered the trophy connect in black.
They should have given you a lead time.