Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
450 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I was thinking about my past vehicle ownership this morning and realised that with the exception of 2 or 3 years, I've had some kind of vehicle finance for the past 15 years! Each car would have been an ex-demo around the 12-23K price range - slowly increasing each year as I progressed from hot hatches and swapped fat turbo's for leather seats and air con. :)

However, as the prices increased, the finance deals got longer. Looking back over some old paperwork (just before it went into the shredder) I have been paying on average £375 per month for the last 13 years to one car company (or finance company) or another.

That's a total of almost £60,000 spent on cars - and we are not talking anything really fancy here:- 3 x Astra's, Honda Civic and a Golf GTD.

I imagine that the Model S will be the last car I purchase for a while. I'm hoping to get 15 years out of it. Perhaps replacing the battery pack somewhere in the middle of that time.

What are other Model S owners thinking? Do you plan on keeping yours for a long time - seeing it as a bit of an investment or is it just another car which you will most likely replace in 4-5 years?

·
Banned
3,116 Posts
Buying a new EV without a battery degradation warranty is very high risk IMO. We know from the Plug In America study (here) that ~20% of Tesla Roadsters had their battery packs replaced in the first 4 years, and TMC (here) is reporting large numbers of Model S pack replacements in the first 2 years.

I had a 14 year plan which came very unstuck because the battery and manufacturer failed to perform as expected... buyer beware :rolleyes:

·
Registered
20 Posts
My first post on here, so take it easy on me please.