Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

Being a complete novice on electric cars I am trying to learn as much as possible.

I am a company car driver looking to move ideally to a full electric powered car but I may have to go plug in hybrid first and full electric at a later date.

I have already been given some good advice on how I can get my company to allow me to have an electric car and how we can both benefit by me doing so however I have a question I am hoping for assistance with, which is regarding the amount of time a fully charged battery will keep its charge.

Assuming a vaccine is found for the COVID-19 virus and life returns back to what I shall describe as normal, then this would mean that there will be times once again when I will regularly need to travel to Europe for work. When I do go away, it will mean that my car will be parked up at an airport for anything between 1-4 days. Now I appreciate that the make up of a battery varies from manufacturer to manufacturer and that the weather plays a part in the performance of the battery but in general what I am looking to find out, is if I parked my car for the period I will be away, what are the chances I can go away and come back to my car and the battery still have a charge to get me home.

·
Registered
546 Posts
Leave it at around 60% charge whilst you go away and it will be fine. Discharge depends on different manufacturers, but normally has something to do with connected services so if the car is always in stand-by mode with you checking charge levels etc. it will use more. If you have a car that has no app, then you can normally leave it weeks or even a few months with no sizable drop in battery percentage.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Every EV will be different, but all will experience a slight reduction in battery charge if left for longer periods of time.