Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So last night we did a charge on our Zoe R40. So it was reporting 26% full so I guested that it needed 3/4 of a full charge. So I assume this is somewhere around 30kWhrs. In the morning the Chargemaster reports that it used 39kWhr. Looks like about 9kWhr went missing somewhere.
Does anyone know a typical kWhr usage to fully charge the car?
I am guessing at this rate approx 50kWhr per full charge.

·
Premium Member
11,017 Posts
Is it a Q model by chance? They aren't very efficient on lower charging rates so a lot of kWh is wasted as heat. I assume you have 7kW charger?

·
had an R240, got an R90, might get a ZE50
491 Posts
I have a Chargemaster and I wouldn't trust the data.
I would trust your electric meter, it is worth reading this before and after a charge. Obviously you need to allow for some domestic load.
The Q is less efficient at 7kW than the R according to Renault, they show this in increased time for charging the Q.

·
Registered
5,440 Posts
Probably a bit of both factors.

Charging is only about 90% efficient so putting 30kWh into the battery requires about 33kWh from the socket.

But 39kWh is too high - the chargemaster unit may well be reading wrongly.

Is your supply voltage particularly low? Assuming the chargepoint just has a current clamp it might be assuming nominal voltage which will mean it overestimates energy delivered if supply voltage is low.

·
Premium Member
11,017 Posts
90% efficiency on a 32A charger is probably about right for an R90 but user reports on the Q90 claim less. Also at 16A efficiency is far worse for both, hence my questions to OP.

·
Registered
1,122 Posts
Better to check how many units used on the electric meter
The chargemaster always seams higher when i charge at home

·
Registered
1,122 Posts

·
Registered
5,440 Posts
I wonder if you could use a cheap electric monitor from eBay*