Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone

My first post here having purchased my first EV on Monday (29th). I've been happily charging using a 3-pin plug at home but today I thought I would try my new Type 1 to Type 2 cable (this is the one).

I left the house on full charge and travelled about 5 miles or so fully loaded to try out the charging point at Tesco. Unfortunately after trying two points and a total of four ports, I just couldn't get the charge to initiate. I called the company and they walked me through the process to make sure I was doing everything correctly and they also reset the two points twice before we gave up. The points were all "available" and had been used earlier in the day by other customers so it makes me think the issue is at my end.

I have never used a public charging point before or the new cable, PodPoint hadn't a register of the i-Miev in their database (they are going to add it) so I chose the Outlander instead at their advice, and this is my first EV so things were stacked against me it seems. I checked the car was in park, the handbrake was on (though I don't think this matters), the doors were tried locked and unlocked (though again I don't think this matters), both ends of the cable were fully located in their respective ports, I followed the instructions to the letter, the PodPoint operator and I bypassed the app just in case that was an issue.

Is there anything I am missing here? Any idea why I was unsuccessful?

Thanks in advance.
Craig

·
Registered
4,097 Posts
Craig
What year is your car? Does your granny cable have a brick in it, and was your type 2 to type 1 cable supplied with the car?

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Craig
What year is your car? Does your granny cable have a brick in it, and was your type 2 to type 1 cable supplied with the car?