Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
4,084 Posts
Apart from the headline, what makes you think that i3 was aquaplaning? I would have thought that with its skinny tyres it would have been safe.

·
Registered
2,228 Posts
9 times the square of the tyre pressure: 2.5 bars = 36 psi = 9 x 6 = 54 mph. Not many cars travel in the outside lane at less than 54MPH - and there is only so much that narrow tyres can do! It looks like the driver might have been a passenger for a while. I bet it gave the guy behind quite a shock as well.

·
Registered
115 Posts
9 times the square of the tyre pressure: 2.5 bars = 36 psi = 9 x 6 = 54 mph.
I have no knowledge here...but intuitively that looks like a random number generator...(even assuming square root ;))
What has tyre pressure got to do with aquaplaning that means contact patch area, size/shape/volume/direction of cuts, weight of car, and no doubt other stuff makes no impact on?

·
Registered
63 Posts
Don't know about the maths but common sense says when the road is flooded, whatever tyres you have, slow down if you don't fancy aquaplaning.

A21 in Kent is another poorly drained road that has seen many a car swap ends in heavy rain.

·
Registered
326 Posts
Well that i3 is the “S” version so has wider tyres so will aquaplane sooner than the standard i3 with narrower tyres, my experience in heavy rain and standing water has been the normal i3 is much less effected than others. In fact very stable in the rain.

·
Registered
4,164 Posts
Total width of the tyre is pretty much irrelevant for aquaplaning resistance compared to the tread pattern design.