Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
EGGY
1,553 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well the car continues to do it's best to annoy me .... I post this for information only, I'm not interested in trying to guess what could be wrong here but more as a bit of a warning for people.

We have an Osprey charger in town, and I have credit to use on the wecharge card, so off I go to charge the car, especially as it's peeing down with rain so I'm getting bugger all solar.

The ID.3 resolutely fails to charge, plug it in, hold the plug, push it up, pull it down, wiggle it about, make a sacrifice to the god of charging, do a dance, nothing ... in 5 attempts now it has charged once.

Take the Tesla up there, just charges, no fuss plug it in and it does what it supposed to do.

No big deal as it's local but if I was on a journey and needed it, I'd be hacked off (so as always, have a plan B) and if I was a newbie I might be thinking this electric car malarky isn't quite what it's cracked up to be :mad:

·
Premium Member
VW ID.3 Worst Edition & Tesla M3 LR
6,646 Posts
It’s a strange one, I haven’t tried an Osprey charger yet, but mine has always charged first time on everything I’ve ever plugged it into.

It was connected to an Instavolt at Keswick once, it stopped and when I got out to check the charger was completely dead. I don’t think my car killed it!

But you’re right, this EV malarkey isn’t quite what it’s cracked up to be for a lot of people.

·
Registered
ID3 1st Edition in Glacier White
450 Posts
What exactly happens when you try and charge?
I use Osprey successfully all the while. The only issue was when the RFID card reader was faulty which I reported and they repaired within a few days.

·
EGGY
1,553 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·