Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

Hopefully picking up my new ID3 life on Saturday, currently have no home fast charger (i had an e-niro on lease on order for march but cancelled to take the ID3... I may well live to regret that decision!)

- What's the consensus on the best home charger? I'm leaning towards just going for a podpoint? (I don't have solar panels, might do in the future maybe but no imminent plans) I want to get one ordered ASAP now my deal is finalised for the car.

- 12v battery booster/charger, plan to get one as 12v batteries seem to be a weakpoint on most EVs, any recommendations of what to go for?

- I've got mats, bootliner and 3 pin cable ordered via dealer, not sure there's anything else I need (im new to the EV game)?

Cheers

·
Registered
492 Posts
I've had a PodPoint since Sept 2019 when I bought my e-Golf & never had any issues with it at all. It just works & has never failed to charge either of our 2 e-Golfs (the car has had a couple of problems but not the charger!). I went for the untethered, as I needed a longer cable. If you have a similar requirement don't buy a cable from them, they are expensive. I got mine from Amazon.

·
Registered
Nissan LEAF30
6,868 Posts
You need to check whether you have the best energy supplier given that your usage is about to increase significantly and decide on the type of tariff that is most appropriate. There's lots of discussions elsewhere about the merits of off-peak tariffs like Go and dynamic tariffs like Agile.

Get hold of your DNO (details on your current electricity bill) and check the size of your incoming fuse and that your supply is not looped.

The choice of the "best" charge point depends on how "smart" you wish to charge and whether the timers on the car are sufficient - the ID3 currently has issues with some suppliers but these hopefully will be resolved.