Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking to get my first car in the UK and it will be an i3 with range extender. The car will be hired through a business contract hire on a Limited Company I own. I am having more than one headache with the insurance quote though.

I have tried Direct Line and Confused.com to get a quote, but both seem to provide little or no help, they can't get me a quote with the details I input. I haven't got the registration number yet, and I have no NCB information in the UK. I have been driving a car in Italy for 15 years and I had no accident claims there, but I believe I won't be able to use my NCB certificate from abroad.

Any tips to get an insurance quote when the car is owned by the business?

·
Banned
1,336 Posts
I'm looking to get my first car in the UK and it will be an i3 with range extender. The car will be hired through a business contract hire on a Limited Company I own. I am having more than one headache with the insurance quote though.

I have tried Direct Line and Confused.com to get a quote, but both seem to provide little or no help, they can't get me a quote with the details I input. I haven't got the registration number yet, and I have no NCB information in the UK. I have been driving a car in Italy for 15 years and I had no accident claims there, but I believe I won't be able to use my NCB certificate from abroad.

Any tips to get an insurance quote when the car is owned by the business?
My father in law moved here from South Africa last year and was able to use proof of no claims of 4 years from his SA insurance company to get a 4 year NCB on a new policy with his SA driving licence (now swapped for a UK one) via Aviva via an online quote. Cost him £500 for a 2002 BMW 320iSE for fully comp.