Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here. I am hopefully getting my VW ID.3 at the end of September. It comes with a free allowance of 2000kWh to be used with the IONITY network. I think this includes my local Tesco one mile away. Do I need to rush to install a home charger before I get the car, or will charging when I am out and about be sufficient. I reckon I will be doing 6000 miles per annum.

·
Registered
2019 Renault Zoe R110 (ZE40)
995 Posts
Tesco have a deal with Pod Point, not Ionity, but their chargers are free right now so that won't be an issue.

Take a look at Zap Map to confirm the availability of public chargers in your area.

I have lived without the ability to charge at home for years and have managed just fine in an EV. You shouldn't struggle at all, it will just be a bit easier once you do have home charging sorted out.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Tesco have a deal with Pod Point, not Ionity, but their chargers are free right now so that won't be an issue.

Take a look at Zap Map to confirm the availability of public chargers in your area.

I have lived without the ability to charge at home for years and have managed just fine in an EV. You shouldn't struggle at all, it will just be a bit easier once you do have home charging sorted out.
Thanks for that. Trying to cope with my unfounded range anxiety!

·
Registered
2,073 Posts
You could use the granny lead presumably. I use a low power one (6 amps) most of the summer to maximise solar charging and it is fine. Provided you have a good quality newish 13 amp socket to plug into - see discussions elsewhere on here about using extension leads.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #5