Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello

This has probably been discussed before, so apologies, would appreciate if someone can put me in the right direction.
I am relatively new to EVs, only got the Leaf 24kw 3.3 charger in November, when I also moved to a new house.
I am debating if is worth going to an Economy 7 meter and tariff.
I am currently with Ecotricity on their EV plan (I think is 12.93 p/kW, 31.31 p/day standing charge). I do over 50 miles every day. I only have a month of data since it took a while to change supplier and tariffs. In January I used about 630kW of electricity in total, just under 400kW went in to charging the car. I already schedule the car to charge over night, which works OK for me.
Has anyone got a clever spreadsheet or website that can calculate how much better of I would be on Eco7 (if that would be the case).

Many thanks.

·
Registered
2,430 Posts
We are on E7 which on Ecotricity is from memory about 6p so 400x 7p is about £28 month or £336 a year cheaper. So yes it's worth doing if you can charge overnight.

·
Registered
182 Posts
It does depend on the prices charged but I have calculated I am saving over £10 a month on economy 7 by charging at night. My daytime unit charge is about 2p more than the non economy 7 tarriff and I use just over 50% of electricity at night time charges.

·
Registered
1,854 Posts
Hello
Has anyone got a clever spreadsheet or website that can calculate how much better of I would be on Eco7 (if that would be the case).
I have such a spreadsheet (though 'clever' might be stretching it). Drop me an email (trevor.larkum [at] fuelincluded.com) or PM me yours.

·
Registered
1,006 Posts
Simply answer: Yes.

I went through a number of energy companies, Ecotricity included, before settling with Octopus for now. Many people also like Bulb for similar reasons.