Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm a newbie about EVs and I'm here to ask for a clarification.
After reading some docs about EVs, I learned that there are 4 different charging modes, where each of them specifies voltage and current values during EV charging (so, indirectly, the absorbed power).

For example, I read that in my country, during a slow charge, if an EV is recharged by a single-phase supply (230 V), it will absorb (at maximum) 16 A (so about 3.7 kW).
"16 A" corresponds to the maximum current rating of my household, so I guess that, during EV charging, it's possible to reduce the current which the EV absorbs, so that it is also possible to use, at the same time, some other electric equipment (such as TVs, appliances, ...) without causing an electric overload.

Is it right?
If yes, how the current (during the charging phase) is reduced? "Manually" or is it done by a specific device?

Is there anyone who could clarify me this? Thank You!

·
Ampera aka IGOR
3,546 Posts
I can only answer for two cars:-
Vauxhall/Opel Ampera using the factory-supplied charging unit the car will default to 6 amps, this can be over-ridden to 10 amps (early cars/charging cables had the controls on the external box, later cars/charging cables had the option within the car on the charging screen menu). The full 16 amp capability can only be supplied with a dedicated supply purely for the EV.
Tesla Model 3 the charging rate can be reduced within the car manually. I'm not sure if this needs to be done every time the car is plugged in or if it will remember it from one charging session to the next at the same location.

·
Registered
138 Posts
If you want automatic charge reduction to load balance with the house load I think you may need a smart charger such as the Zappi or similar. I know my Zappi can do this but as I charge at njght it has not needed to do this yet.

·
Registered
1,216 Posts