Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm starting to lose trust in my charger installation company. I have an Ohme wall charger but now looking to have a retrospectively installed earth rod to be as safe as possible since they didn't advise one initially. Now the more I look into chargers the more I'm concerned they haven't followed regulations.

A video by Artisan Electrics explained the regulations state the charger must be placed a minimum of 75cm from the ground. I've attached a photo of my charger but this clearly isn't 75cm from the ground. Maybe it was my fault as I asked installer if can go there as the brick is painted black so would be camouflaged and he duly agreed. I'm not an electrician so shouldn't he have said no as won't comply with regulations?

Before I complain to the installer, am I correct? Thanks
IMG_20201010_115224.jpg

·
Registered
4,822 Posts
That's a tricky one.
That looks like a portable charger that you've got fixed to the wall, in which case I'm not sure the regs apply.
But it appears to be plumbed in (It's edge of picture), so maybe they do.

Also not sure if those heights are prescribed or just recommended. (I think they are to do with accessibility rather than any safety, etc, aspects.)

·
Registered
17,404 Posts
So let’s be clear. You asked the electrician to install it on the ‘black brick’.

Now you’re complaining that he did as you instructed?

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
So let’s be clear. You asked the electrician to install it on the ‘black brick’.

Now you’re complaining that he did as you instructed?
Yes but that was months ago and I only did that for aesthetic reasons. Now as all newbies I'm learning more as time passes and just stumbled upon the video that mentioned the 75cm minimum. An electrician knows the regs so if a customer suggests something unknowingly wrong then surely they should say "sorry can't do that as won't comply"?

·