Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
198 Posts
i have had my Leaf 40 for 18 months and 26000 miles and i think it is outstanding.

Realistically the range is about 140 if you don’t want to get to close to the minimum but driving wise it is fine. I am no expert about stability - I do not notice any difference to my Skoda Superb. I can say that in D mode and without e-pedal the car is very quick and the only time I wheel spin is when I really try and get away fast, but it is easily controllable

I would like greater range, but for 80% of journeys this car is perfectly fine.

I would like more space, but then I am 6 foot 5.

I do like the 4 per mile running costs, not road tax, no congestion charge!

On the last 3 holidays to Spain, Italy & Scotland we have had a Zafira people mover (probably 2 years old) and a Ford Edge SUV (less than 6 months old), Peugeot 3008 SUV (less than 6 months old) the Leaf is by far the smoothest and nicest to drive.

Even the newest diesel cars I have been in seem rough now.

I can’t comment on the Leaf 62 as i have never driven one, but the Leaf 40 is a great car for the Average motorist.

·
Registered
5,686 Posts
I drove a 40 recently. Not driven any other older leaf though. Road manners seemed quite good.
Steering wheel doesn't adjust for reach which is a bit annoying.

Competent is how I'd describe it.

·
Registered
389 Posts
I've had my Leaf 40 for a year and love it.
Me too. 13 months and 8000 miles.

Sure for the odd longer journey I'd prefer it did 200+ miles and not 140 for the three or four long trips we do each year. Likewise the app is absolute rubbish and needs replacing ( I now use My Leaf). The Rapidgate issue has never affected me as the longest journeys we have ever done have only needed 2 rapids. Other than that the car does everything we need it to.

Plus during the April - Sept period my solar panels allow me to drive for virtually free.