Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
Does anyone know whether there is a way to setting a timer for charging the Renault Zoe, which would also allow me to limit the current draw?
The use case is as follows:
- I will soon have a 5 kWp PV system, which will generates 4 kW
- I have a ChargeMaster 32A system (which effectively charges the car at 7kW)
- I have an immersion heater that in the summer heats the hot water tank by 11am.
- I therefore want to tell the Zoe to start charging at 11am, but want to limit the charge to 3 kW (I accept that it will take a lot longer to charge the car, but at least it would mainly use generated electricity, rather than drawing from the grid. This is particularly important as I am thinking of moving to an electricity tariff that will be more expensive during the day and cheaper at night.

Thanks for any help or advice.

Fabre

·
Registered
3,355 Posts
You'll probably need to use a 'granny cable', but as I'm typing this I've remembered that you can use a Zappi charge point to do what you want as well.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I've thought of replacing my (free) ChargeMaster with a Zappi actually. However I remember reading somewhere (but can't remember where) that the Zoe might not be keen to work with a fluctuating charge (which would most likely happen with the Zappi in Eco (ie. diverter) mode).
Does anyone have experience of that?

Fabre

·
Registered
1,851 Posts
I did some experimenting on my 2013 ZOE and if I remember correctly if you break the charge from the house end (e.g. via the isolator) - to represent a simple on-off diverter - ZOE does not restart charging.

I suspect it would be less sensitive to a fluctuating current so long as the charging wasn't completely interrupted.

·
Registered
94 Posts
Looks promising - I'd just say don't assume that what works for a Leaf (or any other EV) also works for a ZOE.