• Driveway

• Garage

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All

I am a newbie and I am (fingers crossed) going to be purchasing an ID.3 in the near future. I am just starting to get things organised.

I am getting a new garage installed in the next month (not just for the new car but because my old garage was falling apart) and it should fit the ID.3 but I am unsure as to whether I should have the home charger installed in the garage or on the side of the house next to the drive. Its a pretty long driveway alongside the side of the house so plenty of space.

I know the answer most likely would be "wherever the car will be parked most often" but I wonder what the pros and cons are of installing it in the garage or driveway. I'm afraid that I might be missing an obvious "no no".

Does anyone have any opinions/advice on best place for a charger?

Thanks for any responses.

·
Registered
1,441 Posts
The best place for a charger would be inside the garage. If there's a possibility of filling the garage with years of assorted junk or of needing to park one car inside the garage and charge a second, then fitting the wall unit (N.B. the "charger" is installed in the car !) just inside the garage door should allow that.

Reactions: LH18

·
Registered
260 Posts
Most garages are too small for many modern cars. My advice is to place the chargepoint where it's most convenient to charge the car where it is where you'd normally park it. Don't worry about it being outside; the units are designed to work outside, and yes, if your driveway is big enough to fit multiple vehicles, fit it such that it could reach any of the parking spots because at some point you may have two vehicles that want charging. Enjoy your garage, enjoy your driveway. Many drivers have neither available.

·
Registered
515 Posts