Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Live by the sword. Don't intend to die by it.
863 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've just placed my order for a PodPoint, and noticed that one of the options is for a lock. Do people feel that kind of thing is necessary? I can't really imagine someone pulling up at my house and nicking electricity for a few hours, but maybe I'm not being paranoid enough?

I ended up ordering an untethered unit and a 10m cable. Given the price of the cable, I guess it's common to either unplug it entirely and keep it indoors (or in the car), or to somehow lock it in place?

Interested to hear about everyone's thoughts and experiences.

·
Registered
2,034 Posts
I have an untethered chargemaster with a lock, it's been on the wall 4 years and no one has tried to charge their car on it.
I use a 10m cable, usual problem 2 cars on drive and need the length. this is left plugged in and anchored to the wall with a Staple and small padlock. Anyone desperate for the copper will cut the cable anyway so the lock is a deterrent,

·
Registered
Nissan LEAF30
6,248 Posts
The myth of people stealing electricity seems alive and well. Has it ever happened in this country?
As you identified, the kit is more likely to be stolen in my opinion. PodPoints sell without provenence on eBay for £300 - that's a lot of electricity even at Ionity rates.
You can get cable locks but they are easy to overcome - Google BosnianBill and his YouTube videos testing them - anything he knows the crims know. My suggestion is to keep your unit out of site.

·
863 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I have tall wrought-iron gates halfway down my driveway. I suppose I could install the charger behind that, and bolt the cable to the wall. I just wonder if all I'd achieve is inconveniencing myself!

·
Registered
Nissan LEAF30
6,248 Posts
When would you want to take the cable anywhere else? What you suggests sounds sensible as the charge point will be app controlled.

·
Registered