355 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Beer gut over belt ..... check
Consumes too much booze at home ... check
Grey beard .... check
Bad knees ..... check
Children confirm I am "embarrassing" .... check
Dad-dancing in kitchen while I cook .... check

I am embracing my mid-life crisis and and going to wring its neck enjoying it - I fancy a small sports car for "fun" - it doesn't need to be fast as I have my Tesla for that.
I want it to be reliable and cheap to run (i.e. not a classic car) and I will probably want to use it all year round unless its really snowy. I don't care how ridiculous I look in it within reason tbh.

The Mazda MX-5 / MX-5 RF or maybe a decent second hand variant looks like it ticks all the boxes to me - I am going to test drive one this week I hope.

I don't care about image, it might be a "hairdressers car" but given that I am an engineer anyway I have no concept of "cool"
  • Have you got a vanity / fun second car?
  • What would you recommend?
J

·
Registered
171 Posts
I too do all the above but luckily without the beer gut i lust after a Honda S2000 probably one of the best cars ever!

·
Registered
355 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Agreed, they are awesome, fantastic engine. Good one's hard to find though

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

·
Super Moderator
11,271 Posts
I owned a third generation (NC) MX-5 for two years. Highly recommened. Everything I've read says the current generation car is even better.

I like the new Fiat 124 too. It is built in Japan alongside the MX-5.

One other mid-life suggestion: Start going to crossfit.

·
Registered
450 Posts
Mx5 gets my vote, but.... Go for an original mark one (pop-up light model).

Now I know you said you didnt want a classic (they're up to 28 years old), but, you did say reliable and bring a smile to your face, and they do both of those fautlessly.