Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all

I am new to both this forum and EVs in general. My Mini Electric arrived last Wednesday and am loving it so far. I have been charging using the dealer-supplied 3 pin cable so far, with the current lock down I'm not exactly going very far at the moment.

I am moving my energy provider to Octopus Agile to take advantage of their variable pricing. I'm planning to get an OHME smart charger which should be able to delay charging to match the lower Agile tariff periods.

Does the Mini support delayed charging managed by a smart charger? I've read that some cars like the MG go to sleep so won't charge when the current becomes available. My thinking is to set the Mini to Charge Immediately and manage the schedule through the OHME app - is that the best approach?

Thanks in advance for any info.

·
Registered
1,653 Posts
Why not just ask Ohme if they have any customers using their kit with a Mini EV. And if it turns out that you'd be the first (which seems unlikely) ask them for a guarantee that you can return it if it doesn't work

Reactions: Paddy

·
Registered
54 Posts
Does the Mini support delayed charging managed by a smart charger? I've read that some cars like the MG go to sleep so won't charge when the current becomes available. My thinking is to set the Mini to Charge Immediately and manage the schedule through the OHME app - is that the best approach?
Worked fine on my Mini electric when I set a delayed charge on my charger.

·
Registered
199 Posts
Does anyone know if the Ohme has access to the MINI Electric API so that it can see the state of the battery during the charging, rather that trying to guesstimate it.