Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Dear EV Owners,

I am an engineering student in London and am interested in pursuing an electric-vehicle related business. I have been thinking of developing a system whereby EV owners could have access to a network of portable charging stations via a fleet of vans or trucks. I am still in the process of figuring out the best method for achieving this network but I would love some of your input.

Firstly, is it be something you would be interested in? To be clear we would offer breakdown cover for when you run out of charge; we would send a van/truck to recharge your battery, ideally about 50% in under an hour.

Secondly, we would offer a recharge anywhere in the country, you just book the time and place and we will have a charging station there for you when you arrive. I am thinking it would give you more flexibility in your journeys.

Please be as critical of this plan as you see fit. I am looking for genuine opinions as to whether this is a service you would pay for? ANY comments would be greatly appreciated, even a YES/NO answer.

Thank you,

Greg

·
Premium Member
2019 Leaf 40
6,390 Posts
What would those vans be powered with?

I can see a use for them at one off destinations eg festivals but without a mahoosive generator you are going to need a lot of battery power. Then you'll be belching out a load of diesel fumes so a bunch of sandal wearers can recharge their EVs...

What sort of cost would it be to decide I wanted to recharge in the middle of Wales where there are sod all rapid chargers? With brass neck and an portable charger you can get a 10amp charge just about anywhere.

Personally I think it is a duff idea. What might be better might be to have battery storage facilities in remote areas that charge themselves up and offer a faster than 7kw charge at a premium price for those that get stuck somewhere.