Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everybody

I have had a Model 3 Performance for two months. I’m new to EVs, and just getting used to everything.

My most frequent journey is about 110 miles round trip. I start at about 07:00 with 80% battery and get back 17:00–19:00.

Even if I drive the car on Chill acceleration mode like a sainted aunt, I’m lucky to get home with 20% charge left, and it has got worse in the last couple of days with sub-zero temperatures in the morning. The new scheduled departure charging mode is nice for a toasty, defrosted car in the morning, but doesn’t seem to help much on range.

is this what I should expect, the car seems nowhere near capable of doing about 300 miles as advertised.

·
Registered
1,346 Posts
So you're using about 45kwh (60% of the battery) in a 110 mile round trip, which would be about 380Wh/mi which is somewhat high for a model 3 (the ranges are calculated on 250 in summer, winter will be somewhat higher but you're at the high end of even that).

OTOH we don't know your journey.. lots of hills will kill it - regen down a hill never gets back as much as it costs gettting up the hill. Driving >70mph (wind resistance increase with the square of speed), that kind of thing.

Scheduled departure should help as you're heating the car on charge which means it's not affecting range trying to warm the car from cold.

·
Premium Member
10,183 Posts
I guess doesn't really matter if your longest journey is within range?

You may find table at link below useful - with 20" sticky tyres the only way to get 300 real miles is to charge fully and drive at 65 in warm, dry weather.

·
Registered
234 Posts
380Wh/m is about what I'm returning on a short daily journey to work which is pretty hilly with a bit of stop/start traffic (on a stone cold battery).

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Wow, thank you all for such prompt and helpful replies!