Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
Registered
2,025 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I've been driving EV since 2012, mixture of conversions and OEM. My main car from late 2014 - Feb 2020 has been a 24kWh LEAF Tekna which we fitted a full Nismo suspension/body kit to a couple of years ago.

Unfortunately that LEAF was in a fairly minor bump back in Feb (rear ended in slow traffic) which cracked the carbon fibre bumper, its been taking a while for the rare replacement rear bumper to arrive from Japan.

After a couple of months in various Vauxhall hirecars the insurance company agreed to an EV hirecar. I was able to get a 2017 Model X 75D with ~70k miles on a short term lease with option to buy for a good rate in the height of lockdown. I had that for 7 months and it went back yesterday.

Its the worst car I have ever 'owned' with the worst service I have ever received from a premium brand. As such, I will avoid Tesla and advise others to do the same.

1. Getting setup on the Tesla App - took 4 months. Tesla support disappeared entirely over lockdown and beyond then had a large backlog of requests to work through.

2. Suspension top ball joints (apparently common) squeek at low speed and when turning. They had to be stripped and regreased twice in 7 months.

3. Locked in! I was locked in the car twice. Once for about 15 minutes where I had to wait for ECUs to reset to allow the electric assist doors to open (windows also wouldn't open). I genuinely got to the stage of considering what glass would be cheapest to replace while waiting for everything to reboot.

4. The falcon wing doors are a bit of a gimick but actually great for seating a toddler in a large car seat. Unfortunately the doors have a habbit of hitting things, for me they were able to push over my wheelie bin and clip a wingmirror in an adjacent car leading to a minor cash settlement for a scratch. They aren't practical for UK public carparks