Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 82 Posts

·
Registered
3,764 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I hate to post a link to The Express but this one is too egregious to pass by....

Electric car sale increases have turned experts attention to non-engine pollutants with new data revealing a car’s tyres could be the most dangerous. Data from Emissions Analytics has shown tyre pollution can be up to 1,000 times worse than a car exhaust in a shocking find.

Experts found brand new tyres emitted 5.8 grams of emissions for every kilometre travelled compared to just 4.5 milligrams per kilometre from a regulated exhaust.
Come on. 5.8 grams of "emissions" per kilometre ? :rolleyes: I'm no rocket scientist but if a tyre actually shed 5.8 grams of mass per kilometre an entire ~10Kg tyre would be gone in 1724 kilometres! :rolleyes:

The weasel words are "brand new tyres" - brand new tyres still have release compound on them to release the rubber from the moulds, this stuff is quite slippery but wears off in about 50 miles of driving, so I could potentially see 5.8 grams of release compound shedding from a brand new tyre. Well, so what ? ICE vehicles have tyres that when new have release compound on them as well ? Does anyone know what the release compound is that coats new tyres and whether it would produce particulates like the rubber ? I suspect it's not rubber...

·
Registered
3,781 Posts
I think they've got the units wrong and it's milligrams as they've given for the exhaust.

My understanding is that this release compound is an urban myth.
Even if not it would be gone in a mile or so.
New tyres do tend to have those little spikes from the moulding process that can take a few miles to rub off; but they probably only make up 5 grams max in total.

·
Registered
3,764 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I think they've got the units wrong and it's milligrams as they've given for the exhaust.
I did wonder if the units were wrong...