Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
Jaguar I-Pace SE
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been driving Mitsubishi Outlander PHEVs for the last 7 years and am planning to move to a full EV this year. As Mitsu has abandoned the UK market I have put together a list of about a dozen models due this year to choose from. I want something spacious like the Outlander with AWD and at least 250 mile real-world range. It's a bit frustrating that there are no dates or prices yet for some of the AWD versions of new EVs like the id.4 or Enyaq. Top of my list so far are the Nissan Ariya and Kia EV6. Audi Q4 also looks interesting but I think the range of the Quattro version may be a limiting factor. Mustang Mach-E AWD looks very expensive and reviewers have been concerned about the suspension and steering so I will definitely check that out if I decide to test drive it. Also a concern that some of the "late 2021" delivery promises may turn into "mid-2022" if the semiconductor shortages really bite. Very interested to hear about other people's test drive experiences.

·
Registered
155 Posts
Hello @richardwg . You're unlikely to get an EV the size of an Outlander which will do 250 miles for an Outlander price (which you probably know if you've got your shortlist). I went from the Outlander to a Leaf+ last year and put winter tyres on over the winter (obviously) to overcome some of the compromise of 2WD. I've been very happy with the 62 Leaf. There are many decent EVs for the price of an Outlander but you might have to review your expectations on size or range.

·
Registered
Jaguar I-Pace SE
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I am prepared to spend more than the price of an Outlander in order to get what I want. I think the PHEV was a real bargain when I bought it - helped by the 5k government grant. So my expectations have been reviewed and I am compromising on price!

·
Registered
525 Posts