Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 66 Posts

·
Administrator
11,835 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So, it turns out the longer I've had the LEAF, and the more I get the enjoy driving it, the less I've worried about HOW I'm driving it.

The other day, I was prompted by a post on Twitter to check out where I ranked in the World on regenerative breaking... 333 at the time, not too bad out of about 4,500. However, in every other department, I quite frankly suck...

Local rankings:

Screen Shot 2014-03-31 at 20.29.43.png

Screen Shot 2014-03-31 at 20.29.52.png

Global rankings (monthly):

Screen Shot 2014-03-31 at 20.30.30.png

Screen Shot 2014-03-31 at 20.30.37.png

So it's about time I started playing this game seriously, April is going to be my eco-month. And I need your support and help.

Bear in mind the landscape of most of driving, 3/4 to 1 mile stretches, mostly 60-70 mph roads with roundabouts (often stationary, usually slow), with some 30 mph stretches. This is not "eco town", this is Milton Keynes. On the plus side, flat.

I'm going to do my best (without annoying all fellow residents) to improve these rankings as much as possible during April. The fact this is my first month with little local charging out and about (well done Chargemaster) is just a happy coincidence. All tips and tricks most welcome, I'll report as I go.

Off to reset the on-board computers and get some driving gloves and a pipe, this is going to be painful! :D

Feel free to join in too, whatever make and model of EV you're piloting, the more the merrier!

RESULTS: https://speakev.com/threads/my-eco-april.1644/page-4#post-17337

·
Registered
33 Posts
Good luck with it Paul. My top tip is get more aero. Tuck in those wing mirrors and slipstream those trucks.

·
Registered
1,338 Posts
That's what I thought - of 35 miles for one kilowatt hour? Impossible. He must be on an electric bike. Or maybe he started at the top of a mountain and coasted all the way down.