Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
2020 Kia Soul First Edition
3,117 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I put a deposit down on a white/red 2020 First Edition Soul EV yesterday, buying
from TMS Leicester. I’ve been driving EV’s for 6 1/2 years. Currently have the MG ZS EV.

I pick up in a couple of weeks.

Are there any accessories that you recommend?

The GOM was on 219 miles at around 93%, which felt low. On my test drive which was very mixed driving I achieved 4.6 miles/kWh. So much more efficient than my ZS. I was wondering why the GOM was so low.

it has the speed limit -1mph issue on the HUD (which is great) which was amusing. Ride felt great. Road noise no worse my my MG. My work gear fitted in the boot. As the cost to change was acceptable and the monthly about the same as what I’m currently paying, it was hard not to say no!

I love the shape and the colour is growing on me. I’m looking forward to having a car where all the EV bits are integrated. The MG is a great car, but the software side is woefully poor. I could have waited for the soon to be released ZS EV facelift, but I can’t imagine that it would still be able to compare with this Soul.

·
Registered
71 Posts
Seems to be the white and red are the only ones in stock at the moment.
It was the only colour our dealer could get. Just waiting for dealer to confirm when they are ready to collect.

From what I've read here, believe the -1 issue is fixed on the latest software / firmware so I would get the dealer to update before collection.

·
Registered
62 Posts
I have just done a 165 mile motorway trip and I did a little bit of experimenting with the GOM. For the first 50 miles, the motorway was heavily speed limited (40/50 and 60 with cameras) which I kept to. Range was pretty accurate. I then sped up considerably. The range became a little optimistic and then suddenly dropped such that I had to slow back down to 60 to get home (I started with less than 100%)!