Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello guys
I am planning to buy an ev second hand. For now my choices are Nissan leaf (2017 or later model) or Renault Zoe (2017 or later model). I also appreciate if you suggest similar class/range makes and models (My budget is around 15k GBP)
So here are my questions for those of you who own or have a good experience with these vehicles :
1. Which one is better?
2. What battery power range should I look for?
3. How many miles can you drive with a full charge of a 30kwh battery, how about with fast chargers?
4. What are the main concerns with a second hand electric vehicle, what should I look for?
5. I want to use the vehicle for commercial use (private hire vehicle), so a good range battery is mandatory

I hope I will get a good advice in this forum, as I am a newbie about evs

Thanks

·
Registered
2016 Nissan LEAF SL
1,083 Posts
I want to use the vehicle for commercial use (private hire vehicle), so a good range battery is mandatory
You'll not get a Zoe licenced as a private hire vehicle in most cities. They measure cars for accessibility and space, and the Zoe falls short in a number of places.

30kWh LEAF is a good option. You'll have no issue getting that approved. 100 miles range average and very fast very reliable rapid charging. (Note you'll significantly reduce this range in the winter if you like your car hot, rather than trying to simply maintain a comfortable, warm temperature)

40kWh if you can push to it is even better range, but noticeably slower charging.

Ideally I'd have said to go for something like a Hyundai Ioniq, but that's probably a good £5k over your budget sadly.

·
Registered
212 Posts
You can get Ioniqs for 15k now, you could probably also get a 40kwh leaf for 15k in a private sale with a bit of haggling. I don't think a 30kwh leaf is going to work for you in winter unless you can charge between jobs.

·
Registered
496 Posts