Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie, 99% about to pull the trigger on an e-Niro.

One of my main trips would be to a static caravan in mid Wales (I live about 160 miles from there so I'm fine one way). The electricity there is metered and so there should be nothing to stop me charging it there in that regard, albeit from a 3-pin plug equivalent, which I believe will only get me about 9 miles recharge per hour on the e-Niro, which is fine as I'll have it plugged in overnight.

My question is whether there are any potential problems or anything I need to be careful of in terms of the specification of the power supply? It's a 32A supply, is all I really know. To avoid trailing a wire out of a window, I was just going to buy a Y-splitter to fit at the supply and exterior plug box and do it that way.

·
Registered
39 Posts
So the car should come with the affectionately-named 'granny charger', which is designed for charging from a 13A socket when you visit your granny. So using that should be absolutely fine; you've already checked the charging speed on that and you know what you're going to get.

The car will draw only a maximum of 10A this way, so you'll have 22A left to play with. That's 5kW (240v x 22a = 5280w), so you'll perhaps need to be mindful before using other heavy electrical items (Hairdryer, fan heater, electric oven) at the same time as charging.
Some granny chargers can be set to limit their draw to 8A or 6A for precisely this reason, with a corresponding drop in charging speed.

Do check the socket you're using for any evidence of arcing or overheating - if it shows signs of this, cease use and arrange to have it replaced.

·
Registered
Kia Soul EV 2020
2,644 Posts
Do check the socket you're using for any evidence of arcing or overheating - if it shows signs of this, cease use and arrange to have it replaced.